Boys Lacrosse Watch Logo

The boys lacrosse team finished the 2017 season with a 10-8 overall record and a trip to the A-AAAAA State Playoffs. This year marked the third consecutive year the War Eagles have qualified for the state tournament.

One of the most exciting moments this season was when Woodward traveled to Buford to face the always talented Wolves. The War Eagles trailed in the second half but mounted a stirring comeback to force overtime.  In extra time, senior Ben Wilkinson netted the game-winning goal to give Woodward a 12-11 road victory.  

All-South Metro honors went to freshman Eric Malever (attack), junior Cade Thomas (defense), and senior Ben Wilkinson (midfield). In addition, Malever earned 2nd team All-State honors as an attack player, the only freshman attack player to earn all-state honors.  The team graduated nine seniors this year, but with a strong core of younger players returning, boys lacrosse will look to be even better in 2018.  

2016 – 2017 Woodward Academy Boys Lacrosse Team

Aaron Barnett12M
Weston Dunkel12D
Xavion Fleetwood12D
Adrian Funk12M
Keller Pilch12A
Anthony Ptacek12M
Will Roberts12FO
Robbie Tucker12M
Ben Wilkinson12M
Thomas Bennett11M
Ben Boxer11D
Sam Etheredge11D
Carter Garvey11M
Ben Goodly11G
Will Moore11D
Lowell Olmstead11D
Jude Slaughter11FO
Deven Smith11D
Cade Thomas11D
Graham Dixon10A
Wyatt Millner10A
Eric Malever9A
James Mayfield9M

Andy Pons, Head Coach (Boys Lacrosse)

Additional Coaches
Chris Myers
Ryan Covert