The Woodward Academy football team had another outstanding season, finishing with an overall record of 11-2 and advancing to the AAAA State Quarterfinals.

The War Eagles went 9-1 in the regular season, with a perfect 6-0 region record, capturing the 4-AAAA region title and securing a #1 seed in the state playoffs.  The region championship was Woodward’s fourth title in as many years, setting a new school record for consecutive region championships in football. In the state playoffs, the War Eagles defeated Richmond Academy in round one and West Laurens in round two before falling to St. Pius X in the state quarterfinals.  The offense was led by region 4-AAAA player of the year Tahj Gary, a junior running back who amassed over 2,000 yards of total offense. Gary rushed for 1,305 yards and 19 touchdowns and caught 37 passes for 790 yards and 11 touchdowns.  On defense, Woodward was led by linebackers Aaron Washington and Kimani Vidal, defensive linemen Drew Dunson and Colin Richardson, and defensive back Hunter Sellers.  The War Eagles will return a large portion of the 2017 roster next season and will look to once again contend for a state title.

2017-18 WA Football Team

1Jacorrei Turner10WR
2Parker Kalhart11WR/DB
3Jason Moncure10WR/DB
4Christian Wylder11QB/DB
5K.J. Phillips12LB
6Micah Robinson10WR/DB
7Mike Wright10QB
8Tahj Gary11RB
9Hunter Sellers10WR/DB
10Austin Smith9QB/DB
11Ambe Caldwell10WR/DB
12Alphonzo Overstreet11WR/DB
13Dacari Collins9WR/DB
14Nick Eller11WR
15Drew Dunson12TE/DE
16Will Cooper12WR/TE
17Lowell Olmstead12TE/DE
18Cross Patton11RB/DB
19Alan Wright9WR/DB
20DA Allen9WR/DB
21Kimani Vidal10RB/LB
22Trey Williams10WR/DB
23Vijay Rajee12WR/DB
24Aaron Washington10FB/LB
25Niles Stubbs12DB
26Khari Gee9WR/DB
27Dany Chamseddine11WR/LB
28Jack Kistler10WR/LB
29Antonio Taylor9RB/DB
30Spencer Smith11TE/DE
31Jordan Sayles12P/K
32Cecil Houston10FB/LB
33Matthew Watson12FB/LB
34Errington Truesdell9RB/LB
35Banks Snellings9QB
36Dylan Ponquinette12FB/LB
37Chase Marshall9QB/LB
38Andrew Pinkston9WR/DB
40Julius Moore10FB/LB
43Ernesto Alvarez10FB/LB
44Leland Jones9OL/LB
45Davis McCormack9FB/LB
47Harry Humbard12TE/DE
48Henry Freer11TE/DE
50Michael DuBose10OL/DE
51Wil Bruce12OL/DL
53Julian Chapman11OL/DL
54Kiersten Lee10OL/DE
55Trey Turner12OL/DL
56Collin Richardson11OL/DL
57Shiva Puttagunta12OL/DL
58Noah Thomas11OL/DL
61Cab Bennett10OL/DL
62Kameron Garmestani11OL/DL
64Jay Sanders12OL/DL
70Robert Joseph9OL/DL
72Myles Ashe10OL/DL
73Carter Kulka9OL/DL
75Nick King9OL/DL
78Kendall Wade12OL/DL
81Jordan Oladapo9WR/DB
84Seth Jones10WR/DB
85Marshall Golick11K/P
88Danny Chen11K/P


Managers: Larissa Chagas, Trinity Dozier, Reagan Glass, Camryn Graham, Nia Kherani and Abbi Patterson


Coach Hunt was named the AAAA Georgia Football Coach of the Year for 2014. For the first time since 1997, the War Eagles advanced to the state championship semifinals after capturing the region championship in 2014. Under Coach Hunt the War Eagles have made two semi-final appearances and one quarterfinal appearance. The War Eagles 44 wins from 2013-2016 marks the most successful 4 year span in school history. Coach Hunt came to Woodward after coaching high school football in Florida and serving on Steve Spurrier’s coaching staffs in college and professional football at Florida and South Carolina and for the Washington Redskins. He played college football at the University of Florida and played pro football for two years.

additional coaches

Ryan Davis, D-Backs, S-Teams*
Jimmy Hyder, Receivers
Calvin Lewis, D-Line
Bill McGarrah, Linebackers
Jim Minor, Running Backs
Darin Schneider, OLB
Brandon Seigler, O-Line
Lee Sellers, D-Line
*College Recruiting