Woodward Academy’s football team had its streak of four consecutive region championships broken this season, but still advanced the AAAA state playoffs.

Hampered by a few mid-season injuries, the War Eagles finished the 2018 regular season with a 6-4 record and 4-2 record in region play. Woodward Academy entered the state football playoffs for the 11th straight season, advancing to the second round, where the War Eagles were eliminated by No. 2 ranked Mary Persons. On offense, running back Tahj Gary was both the top rusher and receiver for the War Eagles. Gary rushed for 1219 yards, recorded 517 yards receiving, and combined for a total of 22 touchdowns. Quarterback Mike Wright threw for 1521 yards with a 66% completion rate and rushed for another 533 yards. On defense, the War Eagles were led by linebackers Errington Truesdell and Aaron Washington and defensive end Ozzie Hoffler.  With a roster full of underclassmen, Woodward will look to regain control of the region and once again return to the state playoffs in 2019.

WA Varsity Football Team 2018-19
2018-19 WA Football Team

1Jacorrei Turner11WR/LB
2Parker Kahlert12WR/DB
3Jason Moncure11WR/DB
4Christian Wylder12QB/DB
5Aaron Washington11FB/LB
6DA Allen11WR/DB
7Mike Wright11QB
8Tahj Gary12RB
9Hunter Sellers11WR/DB
10Banks Snellings10QB
11Ambe Caldwell11WR/DB
13Miles Montgomery11RB/DB
14Nick Eller12WR
15Ian Henderson12TE/LB
16Avery Smith9QB/DB
17Kyle Hammond10WR/DB
18Cross Patton12RB/DB
19Seth Jones11WR/DB
20Damari Alston9RB/LB
21Alan Wright10WR/DB
22Deon King9RB/LB
23Khari Gee10WR/DB
24Adam Thrasher11TE/DE
27Dany Chamseddine12WR/LB
28DJ Gibson12WR/DB
32Cecil Houston11FB/LB
33Ozzie Hoffler10TE/DE
34Errington Truesdell10RB/LB
43Ernesto Alvarez11FB/LB
44Leland Jones10OL/LB
45Davis McCormack10FB/LB
48Henry Freer12TE/LS
50Michael Dubose11OL/DE
52Anthony Okolo12OL/DL
53Alex Moss10OL/DL
54Mikey Okolo10OL/DL
55Julian Chapman12OL/DL
56Collin Richardson12OL/DL
57Robert Joseph10OL/DL
58Noah Thomas12OL/DL
61Cab Bennett11OL/DL
67Jake Reams11OL/DE
70Gordon Hartman10OL/DL
72Myles Ashe11OL/DL
73Carter Kulka10OL/DL
75Nick King10OL/DL
78Peter Millar10OL/DL
83Davis Golick10K/P
85Marshall Golick12K/P
88Danny Chen12K/P

Managers: Larissa Chagas, Trinity Dozier, Reagan Glass, Nia Kherani, Maya Mitchell and Abbi Patterson



Coach Hunt was named the AAAA Georgia Football Coach of the Year for 2014. For the first time since 1997, the War Eagles advanced to the state championship semifinals after capturing the region championship in 2014. Under Coach Hunt the War Eagles have made two semi-final appearances and one quarterfinal appearance. The War Eagles 44 wins from 2013-2016 marks the most successful 4 year span in school history. Coach Hunt came to Woodward after coaching high school football in Florida and serving on Steve Spurrier’s coaching staffs in college and professional football at Florida and South Carolina and for the Washington Redskins. He played college football at the University of Florida and played pro football for two years.

additional coaches

Ryan Davis, D-Backs, S-Teams, College Recruiting
Jimmy Hyder, Receivers
Calvin Lewis, D-Line
Bill McGarrah, Linebackers
Jim Minor, Running Backs
Darin Schneider, OLB
Brandon Seigler, O-Line
Lee Sellers, D-Line
Calvin Lewis, Defensive Line